Home » Cricket » MS Dhoni missed out in Goenka’s CEAT Cricket Awards list

MS Dhoni missed out in Goenka’s CEAT Cricket Awards list


MS Dhoni again failed to impress the Goenkar’s.

Mahendra Singh Dhoni, the man known as MS Dhoni, who has won all the ICC Trophies and brought India to the number 1 rankings in Test Matches was ignored yet again by the Goenka’s. In the CEAT Cricket Awards, Goenka has named top 10 cricket players for the awards but MS Dhoni’s name wasn’t there, neither in the top 10 batsmen in ODIs and in Twenty20 Internationals.

After taking his team through the 3rd IPL Title on 27th April, Dhoni has the most title wins with Mumbai Indians Skipper Rohit Sharma. Then also MSD has been not been featured in the list of top 10 batsmen for the CEAT Awards.
Meanwhile, On May 28th, 2018 the leading tyre manufacturer CEAT Limited celebrated the success and glory of International cricket with ‘CEAT Cricket Rating (CCR) International awards 2018.

The awards honoured the best of the International cricketers based on their performances as rated by the CEAT Cricket ratings (CCR) for the year 2017 – 2018. Indian skipper Virat Kohli has won the International Cricketer of the Year Award. His performance has been absolutely brilliant in One Internationals and in the longer version of the gentlemen’s game.

Then the Kiwi Opener Colin Munro bagged the best player for the shortest format. Munro is amongst the fewest players who have scored 2 centuries in T20 Internationals. Even though he wasn’t a permanent member for the Double D’s in recently concluded IPL season, but his contribution for New Zealand has been immense while opening.

Virat Kohli won the test and the ODI cricketer of the year with 84 and 64 points respectively and Colin Munro won the T20 Cricketer of the year with whopping 1044 points. Amongst the modern day great batsmen, only Virat Kohli and Joe Root have been featured in ODIs and Tests, Kane Williamson is 7th on the list in ODIs and Steve Smith is 3rd on the list in Tests.

With Kohli and Munro won the awards as the best batsmen, New Zealand Pacer Trent Boult and Afghanistan magician Rashid Khan won the awards for best bowlers in the category. Rashid Khan won the best T20 Bowler award and Trent Boult was awarded as the Best International Bowler for the 2017-18.

India’s Women’s T20 Captain Harmanpreet Kaur won the award of outstanding innings of the year.

Shubham Gill the under 19 star was also awarded the U 19 Player of the year and Mayank Agarwal was given the best Domestic Players Award and the Universal Boss Chris Gayle was conferred with Popular Choice Award.

Then the Legend Farokh Engineer was given the Lifetime Achievement Award.

The complete list of CEAT Cricket Rating (CCR) felicitates outstanding performances in the International Arena Award is Here:

CEAT International Cricketer of the Year – Virat Kohli

CEAT International Batsman of the Year – Shikhar Dhawan

CEAT International Bowler of the Year – Trent Boult

CEAT T20 Bowler of the Year – Rashid Khan

CEAT T20 Batsman of the Year – Colin Munro

CEAT Outstanding Innings of the Year – Harmanpreet Kaur

CEAT Domestic Player of The Year – Mayank Agarwal

CEAT U 19 Player of The Year – Shubhman Gill

CEAT Popular Choice Award – Chris Gayle

CEAT Lifetime Achievement Award – Farokh Engineer

The CEAT Cricket Awards has been Honouring the Cricketers since 1995, here is the list of the cricket legends who have won this award previously:

Cricketer of the Year

Brian Lara

Venkatesh Prasad

Sanath Jayasuriya

Jacques Kallis

Sourav Ganguly

Muttiah Muralitharan

Muttiah Muralitharan

Ricky Ponting

Brian Lara

Jacques Kallis

Ricky Ponting

Muthiah Muralitharan

Mahela Jayawardene

Gautam Gambhir

Shane Watson

Jonathon Trott

Virat Kohli

Virat Kohli

Kumar Sangakkara

Joe Root

Virat Kohli


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top
Share via
Copy link