Rossouw Smashed 81 As Somerset Defeat Kent In Blast Opener

rilee rossouw

Rilee Rossouw would smash 81 off 54 balls as Somerset during the opening night of the twentieth season of the T20 Blast.

Somerset vs Kent

A repeat of last season’s final took place on opening night with reigning champions Kent winning the toss and would elect to bat first.

Zak Crawley would be caught by Roelof van der Merwe off the bowling of Josh Davey for 4 before Daniel Bell-Drummond would be caught by Lewis Goldsworthy off the bowling of Lewis Gregory for 12. Sam Billings would be caught behind by Tom Banton off the same bowler for 5 before Joe Denly would be bowled by Ben Green for the same score – the visitors sitting at 33/4 at this point.

Jordan Cox would be caught by Tom Abell of the bowling of Goldsworthy for 11 before George Linde would be the final wicket to fall, caught by Tom Lammonby off the bowling of Gregory, for 29 off 15 balls – Jack Leaning (72 off 43 balls) and Grant Stewart (14 off 8 balls) were the not out batsmen.

Banton would be caught by Leaning off the bowling of Matt Milnes for 9 before Will Smeed would be the other wicket to fall, caught by Cox off the bowling of Fred Klaassen, for 21 – Rilee Rossouw (81 off 54 balls, pictured below) and Abell (48 off 29 balls) putting on an unbeaten 121 runs for the third wicket.

Embed from Getty Images

KEN 162/6 (20 overs), SOM 166/2 (19.1 overs)

Yorkshire vs Worcestershire

Worcestershire won the toss and elected to bat first.

Ed Pollock would be bowled by Dom Bess for 5 before Brett D’Oliveira would be caught by Shadab Khan off the bowling of Joe Root for 32 off 16 balls. Jack Haynes would be caught by Jordan Thompson off the bowling of Matthew Revis for 61 off 33 balls before Ben Cox would be caught by Harry Brook off the bowling of Thompson for 11.

Jake Libby would be caught by Adam Lyth off the same bowler for 25 before Gareth Roderick would be run out by Haris Rauf for a golden duck. Ed Barnard would be bowled by Rauf for 18 before Josh Baker would be caught by Brook off the bowling of Thompson for 3. Pat Brown would be run out by Lyth for 2 off the final ball of the innings with Dillon Pennington finishing 3 not out.

Lyth would be caught by Roderick off the bowling of Barnard for 40 off 24 balls before Tom Kohler-Cadmore would be bowled by D’Oliveira for 1. Dawid Malan would be the final wicket to fall, caught by Barnard off the bowling of Charlie Morris for 33 with Root (35) and Brook (60 off 27 balls, pictured below) seeing the hosts home with 11 balls to spare.

Embed from Getty Images

WOR 172/9 (20 overs), YOR 175/3 (18.1 overs)

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Scroll to Top
Share via
Copy link