Blistering Bairstow Sees Yorkshire To Easy Victory


Wednesday’s action saw Jonny Bairstow smash the ball to all parts of New Road, a Leicestershire bowler take 4 wickets in only 2 overs and Matt Milnes take 5 wickets for Kent.

Worcestershire Rapids vs Yorkshire Vikings

Worcestershire would win the toss and elect to field.

Yorkshire would lose Adam Lyth, caught & bowled by Dillon Pennington, for 2 before Dawid Malan would be bowled by Ben Dwarshuis for the same score. A 146-run partnership between Jonny Bairstow and Tom Kohler-Cadmore would be broken when the latter would be caught by Wessels off Dwarshuis’ bowling for 53 off 33 before Bairstow would be out for 112 off 51 balls as he would be caught by the same player off the bowling of Morris.

Harry Brook would be caught by Wessels off the bowling of Dwarshuis for 22 before Will Fraine would be the last man out for 6 the following ball with the same two players combining – David Willey (9) and Dom Bess (2) the not out batsmen.

ALSO READ: Hales Falls Just Short Of Ton For Notts

Worcs would lose Brett D’Oliviera for a duck as he was bowled by Willey before Moeen Ali would be caught by Lockie Ferguson off the bowling of Adil Rashid for 39. Wessels would score 32 before being caught behind by Kohler-Cadmore off the bowling of Rashid before Ben Cox would be caught by Willey off the bowling of Matt Fisher for 6.

Jake Libby (caught & bowled by Fisher) and Ed Barnard (bowled Bess) would both be dismissed for golden ducks before Dwarshuis (caught Willey, bowled Bess) and Ish Sodhi (caught Lyth, bowled Rashid) would also be out without scoring – the score moving quickly from 110/3 to 113/8. Ross Whiteley would be caught by substitute Gary Ballance off the bowling of Willey for 30 with Dillon Pennington the final man out for 2, caught by Fisher off the bowling of Ferguson for 2 – Morris not out with 2.

4 catches and quickfire runs for Wessels

Worcestershire host Northants tomorrow night while Yorkshire host Durham at the same time.

YOR 216/6 (20 overs), WOR 122 (16.3 overs)

Leicestershire Foxes vs Birmingham Bears

Leicestershire won the toss and elected to field first.

Ed Pollock would be the first man out for the visitors as he was caught by Ed Barnes off the bowling of Naveen-ul-Haq for 8 before fellow opener Pieter Malan would be caught by Louis Kimber off the same bowler for 22. A 113-run partnership between captain Will Rhodes and Sam Hain would be ended when Rhodes would be caught by Ben Mike off the bowling of Callum Parkinson for 79 off 40 balls before Hain would be caught by Lewis Hill off Mike’s bowling for 45.

Carlos Brathwaite would fall 3 balls later, caught by Kimber off Mike, for 9 before Michael Burgess (7) was caught & bowled and Dan Mousley (3, caught by Lilley) were dismissed by Mike in the final over – Tim Bresnan and Danny Briggs finishing on 6 and 4 not out respectively.

ALSO READ: Clarke’s 134 Sees Notts Win At Northants

Josh Ingris would be bowled by Briggs for 8 in the opening over before Arron Lilley would be stumped by Burgess off the same bowler for the same score. Colin Ackermann would be caught by Hain off the bowling of Bresnan for 9 before Rishi Patel would be caught by Lintott off the bowling of Brathwaite for 30.

Opener Scott Steel would be stumped by Burgess off Briggs’ bowling for 46 before Kimber would be run out by Miles for 2. Mike would be caught by Mousley off the bowling of Bresnan for 9 before Callum Parkinson would be caught by Brathwaite off the bowling of Miles for 1. Naveen would be caught by Hain off the bowling of Brathwaite for 4 with Ed Barnes the last man out for 7, caught by Malan off the bowling of Bresnan – Hill the not out batsmen with 26.

Mike took 4 wickets at the death for the Foxes

Leicestershire’s next game is at Northants on Sunday while Birmingham host Lancashire tomorrow night.

BIR 190/7 (20 overs), LEI 155 (20 overs)

Glamorgan vs Kent Spitfires

Kent won the toss and elected to bat first.

They would lost Daniel Bell-Drummond off the second ball of the innings for a golden duck as he was LBW to Prem Sisodiya before Joe Denly was caught by Nick Selman off the bowling of James Weighell for 15. Zak Crawley was caught by Dan Douthwaite off the bowling of Sisodiya, also for 15, before Jack Leaning was caught by wicket-keeper Chris Cooke off the bowling of Marnus Labuschagne for 14.

Sam Billings would be bowled by Douthwaite for a run-a-ball 30 before Darren Stevens would be caught by Selman off the bowling of Labuschagne for 14. Grant Stewart would be the last man out as he was bowled by Douthwaite for 15 with Jordan Cox (32) and Qais Ahmad (2) the unbeaten batsmen.

ALSO READ: Wagner And Henry See New Zealand Close To Victory

In their reply, the hosts would lose David Lloyd as he was caught by Leaning off the bowling of Matt Milnes for 1 with Selman caught by Crawley off the bowling of Stewart for 10. Both Labuschagne (22) and Colin Ingram (17) would be caught & bowled by Milnes before Kiran Carlson would be caught behind by Billings off the bowling of Denly for 1.

Douthwaite would also be dismissed for 1, caught by Denly off the bowling of Qais Ahmad, before Cooke would be caught by Leaning off the bowling of Fred Klaassen for 18. Andrew Salter would be caught by Klaassen off Stewart’s bowling for 3 before Weighall (24, caught Cox) and Sisodiya (0, caught Denly) would fall in consecutive balls as Milnes would finish with figures of 5/22 off 3.4 overs.

5 wickets for Milnes in this game

Glamorgan host Middlesex tomorrow night while Kent host Essex Eagles on Sunday.

KEN 144/7 (20 overs), GLA 104 (17.4 overs)

Today’s Fixtures:

17:30 – Middlesex vs Gloucestershire (South)
18:30 – Surrey vs Sussex Sharks (South)
19:00 – Derbyshire Falcons vs Northants Steelbacks (North)
19:00 – Durham vs Lancashire Lightning (North, live on Sky)

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Scroll to Top
Share via
Copy link