The Hundred 2022 Draft Sees Domestic Players As Important Marquee Signings

joe clarke

This afternoon saw the draft for the second season of The Hundred with internationals from Australia, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka and West Indies all being signed earlier. The competition starts on 3rd August with the men’s tournament commencing with the women’s tournament starting on 11th August following the Commonwealth Games tournament taking place at Edgbaston with games from that point being double-headers.

Who won The Hundred last season?

Last season saw the first Hundred competition with Southern Brave (pictured below) winning the Men’s final after defeating Birmingham Phoenix while the Women’s final saw Oval Invincibles defeat the Brave.

Embed from Getty Images

Birmingham Phoenix

Last season’s Men’s runners-up have signed Australian internationals Matthew Wade (pictured below) and Kane Richardson as their overseas players. England international seamers Olly Stone and Matt Fisher, the latter making his debut in the recent tour of the West Indies, are joined by Gloucestershire’s Graeme van Buuren as their domestic signings.

Embed from Getty Images

Australian international all-rounder Sophie Molineux is one of two new signings on the women’s side of the club with Sterre Kalis is their other signing.

London Spirit

Last season’s eighth place in the Men’s tournament would see the Spirit receive the first pick in the draft with West Indian captain Kieron Pollard the very first player signed for the maximum of £125,000 by new coach Trevor Bayliss, following the death of Shane Warne last month. 2019 World Cup winner Liam Dawson and Australian seamer Riley Meredith were also among their signings with Jordan Thompson, Daniel Bell-Drummond and Chris Wood (their right-to-match player) completing the new arrivals.

On the women’s side, Beth Mooney and Megan Schutt (both pictured below) will go from winning the recent 50-over World Cup to signing for the Spirit with New Zealand spinner Amelia Kerr, as well as domestic player Sophie Luff, also seeing Lords as their home for the tournament.

Embed from Getty Images

Manchester Originals

Last season’s sixth-placed team have signed West Indian Andre Russell and Surrey’s Laurie Evans (pictured below) as their marquee signings. Sri Lankan spinner Wanindu Hasaranga, Australian seamer Sean Abbott and Daniel Worrall, an Australian-born seamer who has recently qualified as a domestic player after gaining a UK passport this winter, complete the signings.

Embed from Getty Images

West Indian all-rounder Deandra Dottin and New Zealander Amy Satterthwaite were the leading signings on the women’s side while domestic players Ami Campbell, Phoebe Graham (both making the trans-Pennine move from the Superchargers) and Grace Potts completed the signings.

Northern Superchargers

Speaking of the Superchargers, they have strengthened their squad with the arrivals of West Indian all-rounder Dwayne Bravo and Pakistan seamer Wahab Riaz as their overseas signings. Adam Hose, Roelof van der Merwe and Luke Wright complete the new arrivals to Headingley on the men’s side.

There were a couple of new faces on the women’s side of the club with former England international Jenny Gunn (pictured below) and all-rounder Lucy Higham joining the franchise.

Embed from Getty Images

Oval Invincibles

Last season’s third-placed Men’s side would add Sunil Narine (their right-to-match signing), South African batsman Rilee Rossouw and Australian big-hitter Hilton Cartwright (pictured below) to domestic signings Danny Briggs, Matt Milnes and Jack Leaning (the latter two signing from last year’s Blast winners Kent where Sam Billings is also captain).

Embed from Getty Images

England top-order batsmen Lauren Winfield-Hill would be their marquee signing on the women’s side who won last season’s competition (picture below) with Aylish Cranstone, Emily Windsor, Eva Gray and Kira Chathili completing their new arrivals.

Embed from Getty Images

Southern Brave

Last season’s Men’s champions used their right-to-match to keep South African wicket-keeper Quinton de Kock while domestic players Rehan Ahmed (a 17-year-old exciting spinner), Joe Weatherley and Dan Moriarty completed their signings.

The women’s side sees Australian all-rounder Tahlia McGrath (pictured below) join the ranks as well as domestic players Georgia Adams, Jo Gardner, Freya Kemp and Ella McCaughan.

Embed from Getty Images

Trent Rockets

The Rockets would add Yorkshire opening batsmen Tom Kohler-Cadmore (pictured below) to their ranks with New Zealander Colin Munro and Ian Cockbain also bolstering their batting options with Nottinghamshire seamer Luke Fletcher completing their signings to play on his domestic home ground at Trent Bridge.

Embed from Getty Images

There was more movement on the women’s side of the club with Australian World Cup-winning captain Meg Lanning, compatriot Alana King and South African Mignon du Preez their overseas signings. Domestic players Bryony Smith, Marie Kelly, Sophie Munro, Alexa Stonehouse and Georgia Davis would complete the signings.

Welsh Fire

Last season’s seventh-place Men’s side would add explosive Nottinghamshire top-order batsmen Joe Clarke as well as Tom Banton, who was with the side last year but went back into the drafting pool, as their main signings. Their overseas players will see Australian spinner Adam Zampa, South African all-rounder David Miller and Pakistan teenage seamer Naseem Shah with batsmen Sam Hain and Jacob Bethell completing the signings.

The women’s side sees new captain Tammy Beaumont (pictured below) move from the London Spirit as well as Australians Rachael Haynes and Annabel Sutherland as their overseas signings. Former England 50-over World Cup winners Fran Wilson and Alex Hartley join Fi Morris and Sarah Bryce to complete their announced squad.

Embed from Getty Images

What do the squads look like now and what salaries have gone to which player?

You can see all of the squad and salary information below:

The men’s squads and salaries
The women’s squads and salaries

Is that it then for signings?

Not at all.

Each men’s team will be able to sign 2 more players to fill their squads out, one a domestic wildcard pick following the Vitality Blast with the other an overseas wildcard pick, both will be announced in June.

The women’s teams can still be filled up until June.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Scroll to Top
Share via
Copy link