Guptill Show Sees New Zealand Defeat Scotland

Martin Guptill2

Martin Guptill’s 93 off 56 balls put New Zealand in a dominant position to win against Scotland in Wednesday’s ICC T20 World Cup action. In the other game, an opening partnership of 140 from KL Rahul and Rohit Sharma saw India thrash Afghanistan.

New Zealand vs Scotland

Scotland would win the toss and elect to field first.

Daryl Mitchell would be LBW to Safyaan Sharif for 13 before Kane Williamson would be caught behind by Matthew Cross off the same bowler without scoring. Devon Conway would be caught by the same fielder off the bowling of Mark Watt for 1 before Glenn Phillips would be caught by Chris Greaves off the bowling of Brad Wheal for 33.

Opener Martin Guptill (pictured below) would be the final wicket to fall, caught by Calum MacLeod off the same bowler, for 93 off 56 balls with Jimmy Neesham (10) and Mitchell Santner (2) the not out batsmen.

Embed from Getty Images

Kyle Coetzer would be caught by Tim Southee off the bowling of Trent Boult for 17 before George Munsey would be caught by the same fielder off the bowling of Ish Sodhi for 22. Cross would be bowled by Southee for 27 before MacLeod would be bowled by Boult for 12.

Richie Berrington would be the final wicket to fall, caught behind by Conway off the bowling of Sodhi, for 20 with Michael Leask (pictured below, 42 off 20 balls) and Greaves (8) finishing not out.

Embed from Getty Images

NZ 172/5 (20 overs), SCO 156/5 (20 overs)

Afghanistan vs India

Afghanistan won the toss and elected to field first.

KL Rahul and Rohit Sharma (pictured below) put on 140 for the opening wicket partnership before the latter would be caught by Mohammad Nabi off the bowling of Karim Janat for 74 off 47 balls with the former the other man out, bowled by Gulbadin Naib, for 69 off 48 balls – Rishabh Pant and Hardik Pandya would be 27 and 35 not out respectively, both of just 13 balls.

Embed from Getty Images

Mohammad Shahzad would be caught by Ravichandran Ashwin off the bowling of Mohammed Shami (pictured below) without scoring before Hazratullah Zazai would be caught by Thakur off the bowling of Jasprit Bumrah for 13. Rahmanullah Gurbaz would be caught by Pandya off the bowling of Ravindra Jadeja for 19 before Naib would be LBW to Ashwin for 18.

Najibullah Zadran would be bowled by the same bowler for 11 before Nabi would be caught by Jadeja off the bowling of Shami for 35. Rashid Khan would be the final man out, caught by Pandya off the same bowler, for a golden duck with Janat (42 off 22 balls) and Sharafuddin Ashraf (2) the not out batsmen.

Embed from Getty Images

IND 210/2 (20 overs), AFG 144/7 (20 overs)

Today’s Fixtures (Times are in GMT)

10:00 – Australia vs Bangladesh
14:00 – Sri Lanka vs West Indies


Follow Us on Social Media

Facebook - Twitter - Instagram - LinkedIn

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
Scroll to Top