Home » Cricket » Markram Quickfire Fifty Sees South Africa Defeat West Indies

Markram Quickfire Fifty Sees South Africa Defeat West Indies


A 26-ball half-century from Aiden Markram sees South Africa get their first win in the Super 12s in Tuesday’s ICC T20 World Cup action. In the other game, Pakistan would take the spoils against New Zealand, giving them their second win of the tournament.

South Africa vs West Indies

South Africa won the toss and elected to field first.

Evin Lewis (pictured below) would be caught by Kagiso Rabada off the bowling of Keshav Maharaj for 56 off 35 balls before Nicholas Pooran would be caught by David Miller off the same bowler for 12. Lendl Simmons would be bowled by Rabada for 16 before Chris Gayle would be caught behind by Heinrich Klaasen off the bowling of Dwaine Pretorius for 12.

Andre Russell would be bowled by Anrich Nortje for 5 before Shimron Hetmyer would be run out by Miller for 1. Kieron Pollard would be caught by Rassie van der Dussen off the bowling of Pretorius for 26 before Hayden Walsh would be the final man out, caught by Reeza Hendricks off the same bowler, for a golden duck – Dwayne Bravo finishing 8 not out.

Embed from Getty Images

Temba Bavuma would be run out by Russell for 2 before Hendricks would be the other wicket to fall, caught by Hetmyer off the bowling of Hosein for 39 with van der Dussen (43) and Aiden Markram (pictured below, 51 off 26 balls) the not out batsmen.

Embed from Getty Images

WI 143/8 (20 overs), SA 144/2 (18.2 overs)

New Zealand vs Pakistan

Pakistan would win the toss and elect to field first.

Martin Guptill would be bowled by Haris Rauf (pictured below) for 17 before Daryl Mitchell would be caught by Fakhar Zaman off the bowling of Imad Wasim for 27. Jimmy Neesham would be caught by the same fielder off the bowling of Mohammad Hafeez for 1 before Kane Williamson would be run out by Hasan Ali for 25.

Devon Conway would be caught by Babar Azam off the bowling of Rauf for 27 before Glenn Phillips would be caught by Hasan Ali off the same bowler for 13. Tim Seifert would be caught by Hafeez off the bowling of Shaheen Afridi for 8 before Mitchell Santer would be the final wicket to fall, bowled by Rauf, off the final ball of the innings for 6 – Ish Sodhi would be 2 not out.

Embed from Getty Images

Azam would be bowled by Tim Southee for 9 before Zaman would be LBW to Sodhi for 11. Hafeez would be caught by Conway off the bowling of Santner for the same score before opener Mohammad Rizwan would be LBW to Sodhi for 33.

Imad would be the final man out, LBW to Trent Boult, for 11 with Shoaib Malik (26) and Asif Ali (27 off 12 balls) seeing their side home with 8 balls to spare.

Embed from Getty Images

NZ 134/8 (20 overs), PAK 135/5 (18.4 overs)

Today’s Fixtures (Times are in BST)

11:00 – England vs Bangladesh
15:00 – Namibia vs Scotland


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top
Share via
Copy link