Warner’s 89 Not Out Saw Australia Into Semi-Finals

david warner 1 scaled

An unbeaten 89 from David Warner saw Australia defeat West Indies in Saturday’s ICC T20 World Cup action. In the other game, South Africa would defeat England thanks to Rassie van der Dussen’s 94.

Australia vs West Indies

Australia would win the toss and elect to field first.

Chris Gayle would be bowled by Pat Cummins for 15 before Nicholas Pooran would be caught by Mitchell Marsh off the bowling of Josh Hazlewood (pictured below) for 4. Roston Chase would be bowled by the same bowler a couple of balls later without scoring before opener Evin Lewis would be caught by Steve Smith off the bowling of Adam Zampa for 29.

Shimron Hetmyer would be caught behind by Matthew Wade off the bowling of Hazlewood for 27 before Dwayne Bravo would be caught by David Warner off the same bowler for 10. Kieron Pollard would be the final man out, caught by Glenn Maxwell off the bowling of Mitchell Starc, for 44 off 31 balls with Andre Russell (18 off 7 balls) and Jason Holder (1) the not out batsmen.

Embed from Getty Images

Aaron Finch would be bowled by Akeal Hosein for 9 before a 124-run partnership between Warner (pictured below) and Marsh would be ended with the latter caught by Holder off the bowling of Gayle for 53 off 32 balls – Warner would finish 89 not out off 56 balls as Australia put themselves in a position to qualify – but would South Africa beat them to qualification for the semi-finals?

Embed from Getty Images

WI 157/7 (20 overs), AUS 161/2 (16.2 overs)

England vs South Africa

England won the toss and elected to field first.

Reeza Hendricks would be bowled by Moeen Ali for 2 before Quinton de Kock would be caught by Jason Roy off the bowling of Adil Rashid for 34 with Rassie van der Dussen (pictured below, 94 off 60 balls) and Aiden Markram (52 off 25 balls) putting on an unbeaten 103 for the third-wicket partnership.

Embed from Getty Images

Jason Roy would retire hurt after pulling a calf on 20 before Jos Buttler would be the first man out, caught by Temba Bavuma off the bowling of Anrich Nortje, for 26. Jonny Bairstow would be LBW to Tabraiz Shamsi for 1 before Ali would be caught by David Miller off the same bowler for 37.

Dawid Malan would be caught by Kagiso Rabada (pictured below) off the bowling of Dwayne Pretorius for 33 before Liam Livingstone would be caught by Miller off the same bowler for 28 off 17 balls. The final 3 wickets would all be taken in the final over by Rabada, first Chris Woakes would be caught by Nortje for 7 off ball 1 before Eoin Morgan would be caught by Keshav Maharaj the following ball for 17 with Chris Jordan also caught by Miller for a golden duck as the South Africa paceman would take the first South African hat-trick in T20Is – Rashid (2) and Mark Wood (1) would be the not out batsmen.

Unfortunately for South Africa, this result was not enough for them to go through with the Aussies finishing in 2nd place in the group.

Embed from Getty Images

SA 189/2 (20 overs), ENG 179/8 (20 overs)

Today’s Fixtures (Times are in GMT)

10:00 – Afghanistan vs New Zealand
14:00 – Pakistan vs Scotland

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Scroll to Top
1.6K view
Share via
Copy link