Hales Stars As Notts Destroy Rapids

alex hales nottinghamshire

Updated: Jun 23, 2021 6:15 am

Tuesday’s action saw an easy win for Notts Outlaws thanks to Alex Hales’ powerplay onslaught, rain seeing a game abandoned without a ball and Shami took 4 wickets for India in the World Test Championship final. Monday’s game between Surrey and Essex in the Blast was also reduced due to a delayed start.

India vs New Zealand

After no play on Monday, New Zealand would resume on 101/2 and would add 16 before Ross Taylor would be caught by Shubman Gill off the bowling of Mohammed Shami for 11 with Henry Nicholls caught by Rohit Sharma off the bowling of Ishant Sharma for 7. BJ Watling would be bowled by Shami for 1 before Colin de Grandhomme would be LBW to the same bowler for 13.

Kyle Jamieson would be the seventh man out, caught by Jasprit Bumrah off the bowling of Shami, for 21 before captain Kane Williamson would be caught by opposite number Virat Kohli off the bowling of I. Sharma for 49. Neil Wagner would be caught by Rahane off the bowling of Ravi Ashwin without scoring before Tim Southee would be bowled by Ravi Jadeja for 30 – Trent Boult not out for 7.

ALSO READ: Inglis Century Helps Leicestershire To First Win

Gill would be the first Indian out, LBW to Southee, for 8 before R. Sharma would be dismissed the same way to the same bowler for 30 – Cheteshwar Pujara and Kohli not out with 12 and 8 respectively as the match goes into the sixth and final day.

IND 217 (92.1 overs) & 64/2 (30 overs), NZ 249 (99.2 overs)

Surrey vs Essex Eagles

Monday’s action saw Essex win the toss with the game reduced to 17 overs a side.

Hashim Amla would be dismissed off the first ball of the match as he was caught by Ryan ten Doeschate off the bowling of Aron Nijjar for a golden duck before Will Jacks was caught by Michael Pepper off the bowling of Dan Lawrence for 3. Jamie Smith would be bowled by Sam Cook before Rory Burns would be caught by ten Doeschate off the same bowler for 2.

Ben Geddes would be stumped by Adam Wheater off the bowling of Nijjar for 28 before Jamie Overton would be caught by the same fielder off the bowling of Lawrence for 1. Jordan Clark would be caught by Simon Harmer off the bowler of Shane Snater for 30 before Rikki Clarke would be LBW to Harmer for 20. Gareth Batty would be bowled by Cook for 3 with Jade Dernbach the final man out, LBW to the same bowler, for 2.

ALSO READ: Ingram Shines As Rain Ruins World Test Champ & Blast Program

Will Buttleman and Wheater would put on 67 for the opening partnership before the latter would be caught by Clarke off the bowling of Dan Moriaty for 30 before Lawrence would be bowled by Clark for 11 with Buttleman (56) and Pepper (15) the not out batsmen.

Surrey host Somerset tonight while Essex travel to Middlesex tomorrow night.

SUR 118 (16.4 overs), ESS 119/2 (15.3 overs)

Worcestershire Rapids vs Notts Outlaws

Notts would win the toss and elect to field first.

Brett D’Oliviera would be caught by Steven Mullaney off the bowling of Samit Patel for a golden duck before Tom Fell would be stumped by Tom Moores off the same bowler for 3. Riki Wessels would be caught by Matt Carter off the bowling of Patel for 2 with Ben Cox caught by Mullaney off the bowling of Jake Ball for 3 – the Rapids struggling at 11/4 at this stage.

Ross Whiteley would be caught by Joe Clarke off the bowling of Mullaney for 15 before Jake Bibby would be caught by Sol Budinger off the same bowler for 29. Ed Barnard would be caught by Clarke off the bowling of Ball for 10 before Ben Dwarshuis would be the final man out for 12, bowled by the same bowler, with Ish Sodhi (2) and Dillon Pennington (4) the not out batsmen.

ALSO READ: Bedingham Platform Gives Durham Win

Clarke (26) and Alex Hales (60 off 24 balls) would knock off the low total after 6.2 overs.

Worcestershire travel to Yorkshire tonight while Notts travel to Derbyshire on Friday.

WOR 86/8 (20 overs), NOT 89/0 (6.2 overs)

Leicestershire Foxes vs Derbyshire Falcons

Derbyshire won the toss and elected to field first.

Josh Inglis would be caught by Billy Godleman off the bowling of Fynn Hudson-Prentice for 11 before Arron Lilley would be caught by Harry Came off the bowling of George Scrimshaw for 9. Scott Steel would be caught by Luis Reece off the same bowler for 46 off 34 balls with Rishi Patel bowled by Matt Critchley for a golden duck.

Lewis Hill would be caught by Hudson-Prentice off the same bowler for 1 before a 71-run sixth-wicket partnership between Colin Ackermann and Louis Kimber would be broken with the former caught by Leus du Plooy off the bowling of Logan van Beek for 37. Kimber would be caught by van Beek off the bowling of Hudson-Prentice off the penultimate ball of the innings for 53 off 28 balls with Ben Mike caught by Conor McKerr off the final ball for 7.

ALSO READ: Blistering Bairstow Sees Yorkshire To Easy Victory

A 60-run opening partnership between Came and Reece would be broken as the former was bowled by Callum Parkinson for 40 before the latter would be ran out by Ackermann for 19. Godleman would be LBW to Steel for 11 before du Plooy would be caught by Kimber off the bowling of Ackermann for 11.

Critchley would be dismissed the same way for 1 before Hudson-Prentice would be caught by Lilley off the bowling of Steel for 6. Alex Thomson would be bowled by Parkinson for 10 before van Beek was dismissed the same way off Gavin Griffiths’ bowling for 3. McKerr would be caught by Inglis off the bowling of Naveen-ul-Haq for 1 before Brooke Guest would be the final wicket to fall for 27, caught Hill off the same bowler, with Scrimshaw 1 not out.

louis kimber
Kimber’s fifty helped Leicestershire to the victory

Leicestershire host Yorkshire on Friday night while Derbyshire travel to Birmingham tomorrow night.

LEI 174/8 (20 overs), DER 132 (18.4 overs)

Kent Spifires vs Gloucestershire

Gloucestershire won the toss and elected to field first.

Daniel Bell-Drummond was bowled by Shaw for 11 before Joe Denly was caught by Taylor off the bowling of Howell for 5. Zak Crawley was caught by Worrall off the bowling of Smith for 43 off 29 balls before Jack Leaning would be caught by Howell off the same bowler for 19.

Alex Blake would be caught by Taylor off the bowling of Worrall for 5 before Darren Stevens was caught by Chris Dent off the same bowler for 15. Grant Stewart was the final man out as he was run out by Miles Hammond for 1 with Jordan Cox (36 off 28 balls) and Qais Ahmad (6) the not out batsmen.

ALSO READ: Hales Falls Just Short Of Ton For Notts

Hammond would be the first man out for the visitors as he was caught behind by Cox off the bowling of Matt Milnes for 33 before Dent was stumped by the same fielder off the bowling of Ahmad for 37. Ian Cockbain retired hurt for 30 with Glenn Phillips (41 off 25 balls) and Jack Taylor (4) not out as they easily knocked off the target.

Kent travel to Essex on Friday night with Gloucestershire hosting Glamorgan tomorrow night.

KEN 147/7 (20 overs), GLO 149/2 (13.4 overs)

Sussex Sharks vs Glamorgan

There was no play at all due to rain.

Sussex host Gloucestershire on Friday night while Glamorgan travel to Gloucestershire tomorrow night.

Today’s fixtures:

18:30 – Durham vs Northants Steelbacks (North)
18:30 – Surrey vs Somerset (South)
18:30 – Yorkshire Vikings (North)

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
Scroll to Top