Hasaranga Puts Sri Lanka Into Super 12s After All-Round Performance

wanindu hasaranga

Updated: Oct 21, 2021 8:00 am

A 123-run partnership between Wanindu Hasaranga and Pathum Nissanka saw Sri Lanka qualify for the Super 12 section while Namibia would get their first victory of the competition by beating The Netherlands in Wednesday’s ICC T20 World Cup action.

Namibia vs The Netherlands

Namibia won the toss and elected to field first.

Stephan Myburgh would be caught by Stephan Baard off the bowling of Jan Frylinck for 17 before Roelof van der Merwe would be caught by Bernard Scholtz off the bowling of David Wiese for 6. Colin Ackermann would be caught by Gerhard Erasmus off the bowling of Frylinck for 35 before opener Max O’Dowd (pictured below) would be the final wicket to fall, run out by Erasmus, for 70 off 56 balls in the final over – Scott Edwards (21 off 11 balls) and Logan van Beek (2) the not out batsmen.

Embed from Getty Images

Zane Green would be bowled by Fred Klaassen for 15 before Craig Williams would be bowled by Ackermann for 11. Baard would be bowled by Seelaar for 19 with Erasmus the final man out, caught behind by Edwards off the bowling of Timm van der Gugten, for 32 off 22 balls with Wiese (pictured below, 66 off 40 balls) and JJ Smit (14) seeing them home with an over to spare.

Embed from Getty Images

NED 164/4 (20 overs), NAM 166/4 (19 overs)

Ireland vs Namibia

Ireland would win the toss and elect to field first.

Kusal Perera would be caught by Gareth Delany off the bowling of Paul Stirling for a golden duck second ball of the innings before Dinesh Chandimal would be bowled by Josh Little for 6. Avishka Fernando would be dismissed the same way for a golden duck – leaving the team sitting 8/3 after 1.4 overs – before a 123-run partnership between Pathum Nissanaka and Wanindu Hasaranga (pictured below) was broken with the latter caught by Young off the bowling of Mark Adair for 71 off 47 balls.

Bhanuka Rajapaksa would be caught by Harry Tector off the bowling of Little for 1 before opener Nissanka would be caught behind by Neil Rock off the same bowler for 61 off 47 balls. Chamika Karunaratne would be the final man out, bowled by Adair, for 2 with Dasun Shanaka and Dushmantha Chameera finishing 21 (off 11 balls) and 1 not out respectively.

Embed from Getty Images

Kevin O’Brien would be caught by Maheesh Theekshana off the bowling of Karunaratne for 5 before Stirling would be caught by Lahiru Kumara off the bowling of Theekshana for 7. Delany would be bowled by Hasaranga for 2 before Curtis Campher would be bowled by Theekshana for 24.

Tector would be caught behind by Perera off the bowling of Kumara for 3 before Rock would be stumped by the same fielder off the bowling of Theekshana for 1. Adair would be run out by Chameera for 2 before Andy Balbirnie (pictured below) would be caught by Fernando off the bowling of Kumara for 41. Craig Young would be bowled by Chameera for 1 before Josh Little was the final man out, bowled by Karunaratne, for the same score – Simi Singh finishing 5 not out.

Embed from Getty Images

SL 171/7 (20 overs), IRE 101 (18.3 overs)

Ireland will play Namibia while the Netherlands play Sri Lanka, both tomorrow at 11:00 and 15:00 BST respectively for their final group games.

Today’s Fixtures (Times are in BST)

11:00 – Bangladesh vs Papua New Guinea
15:00 – Oman vs Scotland


Follow Us on Social Media

Facebook - Twitter - Instagram - LinkedIn

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
Scroll to Top