Rain Affects Day 1 of Hampshire Vs Leicestershire

chris wright

A rain-affected day saw only 26.2 overs bowled in the only County Championship game that started today at the Rose Bowl while we also look at the squads for the 7 games that start tomorrow.

Group 2: Hampshire vs Leicestershire

3rd-placed Hampshire named an unchanged side from their win at Lord’s by 7 wickets while bottom-placed Leicestershire made 2 changes from their home draw against Surrey a fortnight ago with Rishi Patel and Gavin Griffiths coming into the team.

Leicestershire won the toss and decided to field when the action would commence at midday, openers Joe Weatherby and Ian Holland would get the score up to 20 before the former would be caught by Colin Ackermann off the bowling of Chris Wright with Holland and Tom Alsop moving the score onto 53 before play would end for the day just after half 2.

HAM 53/1 (26.2 overs)

Bonus points: HAM 0, LEI 0

Squads For The Games Starting Tomorrow

Derbyshire vs Durham

Derbyshire brings in Ben Aitchison to their squad from last week’s innings defeat against Essex with both Luis Reece and Billy Stanlake missing out due to injury.

Durham makes one change to their 14-man squad that was available for their 258 run victory over Worcestershire last week with Australian Cameron Bancroft replacing New Zealander Will Young after the former’s visa issues have been sorted.

Derbyshire: Billy Godleman (c), Ben Aitchison, Michael Cohen, Sam Conners, Matt Critchley, Leus du Plooy, Brooke Guest, Harvey Hosein, Fynn Hudson-Prentice, Alex Hughes, Wayne Madsen, Dustin Melton

Durham: Scott Borthwick (c), Cameron Bancroft, David Bedingham, Jack Burnham, Brydon Carse, Paul Coughlin, Ned Eckersley, Alex Lees, Stuart Poynter, Ben Raine, Chris Rushworth, Matt Salisbury, Liam Trevaskis, Mark Wood

ALSO READ: Rushworth Becomes Durham Record Holder

Essex vs Warwickshire

Essex names a 12-man squad with the 11 that defeated Derbyshire last week joined by Australian seamer Peter Siddle.

Warwickshire name a 13-man squad with the 11 that face Worcestershire a fortnight ago joined by England opener Dom Sibley and Henry Brookes.

Essex: Tom Westley (c), Nick Browne, Alastair Cook, Sam Cooke, Simon Harmer, Dan Lawrence, Jamie Porter, Peter Siddle, Shane Snater, Ryan ten Doeschate, Walter, Adam Wheater

Warwickshire: Will Rhodes (c), Tim Bresnan, Danny Briggs, Henry Brookes, Michael Burgess (wk), Oliver Hannon-Dalby, Sam Hain, Matt Lamb, Pieter Malan, Liam Norwell, Dom Sibley, Olly Stone, Rob Yates

Nottinghamshire vs Worcestershire

Notts name an unchanged 13-man squad from their game against Essex a fortnight ago.

Worcestershire name a 12-man squad that sees West Indian seamer Alzarri Joseph return to action

Notts: Steven Mullarkey (c), Stuart Broad, Zak Chappell, Joe Clarke, Ben Duckett, Joey Evison, Luke Fletcher, Haseeb Hameed, Lyndon James, Tom Moores, Dane Paterson, Liam Patterson-White, Ben Slater

Worcester: Joe Leach (c), Ed Barnard, Ben Cox, Brett D’Oliveira, Tom Fell, Jack Haynes, Alzarri Joseph, Jake Libby, Daryl Mitchell, Dillon Pennington, Josh Tongue, Riki Wessels

ALSO READ: Tongue Takes 5 Wickets As Rain Plays Havoc

Gloucestershire vs Somerset

Gloucestershire make one change to their 14-man squad that was available for their game at Middlesex a fortnight ago with Miles Hammond replacing George Hankins.

Somerset make two changes to their 13-man squad with wicket-keeper Steve Davies and England spinner Jack Leach returning in place of Tom Banton and Jack Brooks.

Gloucestershire: Chris Dent (c), Kraigg Brathwaite, James Bracey, Ian Cockbain, Dominic Goodman, Miles Hammond, Ryan Higgins, Tom Lace, David Payne, George Scott, Josh Shaw, Tom Smith, Matt Taylor, Daniel Worrall

Somerset: Tom Abell (c), George Bartlett, Eddie Byrom, Josh Davey, Steve Davies, Marchant de Lange, Lewis Goldsworthy, Lewis Gregory, James Hildreth, Tom Lammonby, Jack Leach, Craig Overton, Roelof van der Merwe

Surrey vs Middlesex (Live on Sky)

Middlesex name an unchanged 13-man squad from their defeat against Somerset last time out.

Surrey make one change to their 14-man squad as left-arm seamer Reece Topley replaces Gus Atkinson while it is the final game for Kemar Roach as he will return to the West Indies ahead of their international summer.

Middlesex: Peter Handscomb (c), Martin Andersson, Ethan Bamber, Blake Cullen, Jack Davies, Nick Gubbins, James Harris, Tom Helm, Tim Murtagh, Sam Robson, John Simpson, Thilan Walallawita, Robbie White

Surrey: Rory Burns (c), Hashim Amla, Jordan Clark, Rikki Clarke, Ben Foakes, Will Jacks, Daniel Moriarty, Jamie Overton, Ollie Pope, Kemar Roach, Jamie Smith, Mark Stoneman, Reece Topley, Amar Virdi

Kent vs Glamorgan

Kent captain Sam Billings replaces Hamid Qadri in the only change to their 13-man squad that vs Sussex.

Glamorgan make two changes as wicket-keeper Tom Cullen and James Weighell replace Callum Taylor and the injured Lukas Carey.

Kent: Sam Billings (c), Daniel Bell-Drummond, Jordan Cox, Zak Crawley, Miguel Cummins, Nathan Gilchrist, Fred Klaassen, Jack Leaning, Tawanda Muyeye, Marcus O’Riordan, Matt Quinn, Ollie Robinson, Darren Stevens

Glamorgan: Chris Cooke (c), Kiran Carlson, Joe Cooke, Tom Cullen, Dan Douthwaite, Michael Hogan, Marnus Labuschagne, David Lloyd, Michael Neser, Billy Root, Andrew Salter, Timm van der Gugten, James Weighall

ALSO READ: Exciting Spinner Joins Kent Spitfires For T20 Blast

Northamptonshire vs Lancashire

Northants name a 12-man squad for this game, the same squad as their win against Sussex a fortnight ago but Nathan Buck and Brandon Glover both miss out.

Lancashire name an unchanged 13-man squad from their draw against Glamorgan a fortnight ago.

Northants: Adam Rossington (c), Gareth Berg, Ben Curran, Rob Keogh, Simon Kerrigan, Wayne Parnell, Luke Procter, Ben Sanderson, Tom Taylor, Charlie Thurston, Ricardo Vasconcelos, Saif Zaib

Lancashire: Dane Vilas (c), James Anderson, Tom Bailey, Josh Bohannon, Steven Croft, Alex Davies, Keaton Jennings, Danny Lamb, Liam Livingstone, Saqib Mahmood, Matt Parkinson, Luke Wells, Luke Wood

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Scroll to Top
Share via
Copy link