Indian T20i squad announced for India tour of West Indies 2016

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced the Indian Squad for two-match T20 International series which India would be playing against the reigning T20 World Champions West Indies at Central Broward Regional Park in Florida.

MS Dhoni would be leading the 14-men squad and it is pretty much similar to the side that was sent to Zimbabwe, earlier this year.

Brilliant performance from the opening batsmen K L Rahul against Zimbabwe has paid off and he has made it to the 14 member’s squad announced for West Indies. Most of the players that are already been a part of the test series against WI has made it to the T20 Side along with MS Dhoni and Jaspreet Bumrah who are not currently the part of the test side. They would be flying to USA for the upcoming series which is going to be played on 27th and 28th of this month.

Yujevendra Chahal has also failed to secure a place in the 14-men squad even after his impressive performance against Zimbabwe but he will be a part of the India A team that would be playing against Australia. Stuart Binny and Amit Mishra have been retained in the 14-men squad.

Suresh Raina and Yuvraj Singh has been surprisingly omitted for this series but instead would be leading India Green and India Red for the upcoming prestigious Duleep Trophy, which will be played for the first time with a pink ball, and under lights. The tournament is starting from 23rd of August, 2016.

- Advertisement -

India is currently leading 1-0 in the four match test series against West Indies in the Caribbean. The Test series is going to end on August 22 and after a four day rest India would take on the hosts in a two match T20 high action encounter.

West Indies had defeated India in the world cup semifinal in an dramatic fashion held few months ago before going on to become the world champions after defeating England at the Eden Gardens, Kolkatta. India would be looking to settle the score by clinching the T20I series against them.

Central Broward Regional Park at Lauderhill, Florida would be hosting both the T20 internationals.

After the T20I Series, players would immediately join the teams to participate in the Duleep Trophy under the leadership of Yuvraj Singh, Gautam Gambhir and Suresh Raina who would be leading India Red, Blue and Green respectively.

Full Squad – MS Dhoni (C) (WK), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, KL Rahul, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammad Shami, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav, Amit Mishra, Stuart Binny

- Advertisement -

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating / 5. Vote count:

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

As you found this post useful...

Follow us on social media!

We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!

Let us improve this post!

Tell us how we can improve this post?

Satyajit More
I am a hard core cricket fan and also a good cricket player. In order to be in touch with the game i prefer the way of writing articles about my favorite sports as i can't keep playing due to my personal commitments.

Leave a Reply

Stay Connected


About the Writer

Satyajit More
I am a hard core cricket fan and also a good cricket player. In order to be in touch with the game i prefer the way of writing articles about my favorite sports as i can't keep playing due to my personal commitments.

Must Read

Rain delays dampen the return of Test Cricket

After months of anticipation and hours of planning the rain ruined the joy of watching a full day of test cricket with only 17.5...

MLB: Players Beginning to Opt-Out of Season

With the shortened 2020 MLB season on the horizon. Teams are still struggling to get COVID-19 test results promptly, leading to players beginning to...

Is Extended Reality Effective For Training?

Extended reality (XR) is an umbrella term used to categorize immersive technologies such as virtual, augmented, and mixed reality. Furthermore, the boredom of quarantine...

Kevin Harvick wins the Brickyard 400

Kevin Harvick won the Brickyard 400 at Indianapolis for the third time in his career after Denny Hamlin’s right-front tire blew with only seven...

Can the Nuggets win the 2020 NBA title?

The Denver Nuggets have over-achieved once more this season. Last year was their breakout year, but this season was a winning one, too. The...